Getting Active – For a Great Cause!

Each year my family and I participate in the Rankin Run.  It’s a charity 5km run to help raise funds for cancer research.  The entire event is run by volunteers.  Every single penny goes back into cancer research in the Niagara Region of Ontario.

My good friend’s brother lost his battle to cancer about 12 years ago.  We run in his memory.  I’ve also lost a Grandmother to cancer, so we run for her too.  We run because every single person on this earth has been touched by cancer in one way or another.  If we don’t do something to try to help the research move along, then there will never be a change.

My husband and I brought our kids in their bike trailer.  They’re too young to do the 5km run or walk but I do hope one day they choose to do it with us.  Hubby pushed them during the run.

I’m lucky enough to have a husband who pushes me everyday to be my healthiest.  I was planning on walking the 5km route.  But he decided to run, and I decided to try to keep up.  He beat me by a matter of seconds, but it was a fun way to stay active together.  We’re in this fitness journey as a team.

I’m proud of myself for finishing at my record time (I am not a runner).  The clock said 39:27, but we started about 5 minutes late because the crowd was so thick.  My knee is prone to giving out when I run but this time I didn’t have any problems!  I’m hoping it’s because I’ve gotten stronger – I’d love to do more running.

Get moving because you’ll feel better than you did yesterday!

 

Leave a Reply

