Planning a New 90 Day Routine

Currently I’m working on a new workout plan.  I’ve been constructing my own 90 day plans for the last 3 rounds.  I’ve followed other people’s plans, but I’ve found the most success doing it on my own.

If you’ve ever considered making your own workout plan, know that it’s possible!  It’s a lot of work but it’s completely worth it in the end.  Your results are in your hands – not someone else’s.  When it’s your plan, you can change it at any time.

20161230_152054Creating a Plan

This is a daunting task.  I sit at my computer for hours on end.  I sort out various YouTube workouts based on the type of workout they are (upper body, lower body, total body or cardio).  I have an ongoing file on a cloud server that I can access anywhere.  It’s a giant chart with all the workouts I’ve done and would like to do.  I write notes on each one so it helps me to create a plan that’s right for me.

As I’ve mentioned before, my favourite go-to YouTube channels are Fitness BlenderChristine Salus and XHIT.

Decide Your Outline & Schedule

For me, I like doing one strength focused day alternating with a cardio day.  Briana from Bikini Body Mommy instilled this into me and I still follow it even though I’ve grown out of her workout routines.  My focus is to loose a small amount of weight, but to keep toned.  This rotation has proved very effective in this process.  I work on a weekly rotation.  Day 1, 3 and 5 are strength days.  Day 2, 4 and 6 are cardio days.  I usually use Day 7 as a free day to push myself in areas I felt were lacking that week.  Week 1 I will focus on upper body, week 2 will be lower.  I usually throw in a week of kickboxing because it’s fun and then a week of total body.  At week 5 I will start this process again.

You could choose do more cardio days or more strength days based on what your personal fitness goals are.

Be Prepared to Change Your Plan

If you become stronger or more fit, you’ll want to change your workout to keep challenging yourself.  If you are 100% happy with your fitness level, you can always tone down your intensity levels, but I’m a strong believer in always challenging yourself.

I’m scheduled to start my new 90 day challenge on January 14th!  Wish me luck!

Get moving because you’ll feel better than you did yesterday!

Leave a Reply

