Merry Christmas – My Stomach Hates Me

20161224_121210-1Merry Christmas to my wonderful blog followers!  You may be few, but I’m so thankful that you continue to follow me on the ups and downs of this journey.  I hope you’re all enjoying this wonderful time of year with your families and friends.

Today I’m going to share some real struggles (one of my big downs) that have come up over the Christmas holidays.  My husband and I are off for about a week and a half with our kids.  Talk about putting a kink in our regular routine.

Food

Big, big, big, bad food problems over here.  We’ve either been eating big breakfasts, no breakfasts or WAY TOO LATE.  This isn’t normal for me.  I always have my smoothie around 6:30 a.m.  This week I’ve been lucky to have any kind of a breakfast by 9 or 10.  Lunches have been way too large.  Snacks, what snacks?  We’re so busy carting the kids around to events and activities that I don’t think about snacks!  And dinner.  At dinner time, we’re too tired to even think about cooking.  So we’ve been eating horribly.  Really horribly.  My stomach just hates me.

Sleep

I’m usually pretty bad with sleep as it is.  But some nights we want to watch a movie (which is so rare) and we’re up later than normal.  Then my bad habit this week has been to sleep in.  Let’s throw my system off some more.  Strange enough, I’ve been able to sneak in some 8 or 9 hour sleeps this week.  I’ll be paying for that next week when I have to go back to normal.

Drinks

Would you like a glass of wine with that?  Why yes I do…  When I’m on holidays I like to have a few drinks here or there.  I don’t normally drink so my stomach is pretty angry about this too.  I did buy a bunch of eggnog, but I haven’t indulged in that this year.

CHRISTMAS TREATS

Why do I put myself through the torture? I bake and then I continue to eat them.  I walk by the treat bin and I just have to have one.  Next think I know I’ve walked by 4 times and had 4 treats.  I get so angry with myself, but sugar is my downfall.

20161227_190148Time to Get Back on Track

It happened, I can’t make it un-happen.  But I’ve got to get back into the groove.  Tomorrow is New Year’s Eve and I don’t expect anything to be any better.  But, Tuesday, when I return back to work it’ll be business as usual.  I’ll be tired, but my food and sleep patterns will be back on track.  Hopefully I’ll start to feel better and I’ll be able to forget this horrible week ever happened!

One thing I can at least be proud of this week is that I haven’t let my fitness slack at all.  If anything I’ve pushed myself harder this week because I know I’m eating horribly.  This morning I even tried one of Fitness Blender’s 1000 calorie burn workouts.  It was about 75 minutes long and WONDERFUL!  It was a complete and total body workout.  The link to it is here if you want to challenge yourself to something over the holidays.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year from my family to yours.  Here’s to a new and positive year!

Get moving because you’ll feel better than you did yesterday!

2 thoughts on “Merry Christmas – My Stomach Hates Me

  1. Way To go Sam. 75 min work out eh?- should totally try it:) great job at keeping your fitness on track.. I find it so easy to let my fitness slide if My food slides and vice versa. Be proud of your accomplishments… yay!!! Here’s to a fresh back to normal routine:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

