Working Out With Your Spouse!

A few weeks ago my kids went to their grandparent’s house for the day.  Hubby and I don’t usually know what to do with ourselves without them.  But this time he suggested I go try his gym.  I am not a gym-goer but I thought I’d give it a shot.

20161127_121625What I Learned:

#1 – I don’t like gym’s.  I’m used to interval training and this gym just didn’t have the proper set up that I needed.  I need a gym with a fitness class room with mats and free weights where I can do my routine.  If you go to the gym when a class is in progress – there isn’t anywhere for you to go.

#2 – It’s fun to challenge your spouse to a calorie burning competition.  Ok – it wasn’t a competition but he kept asking me “how many calories have you burned now?”  Which only made me work harder.

#3 – It’s a good idea to mix up your work out once in a while.  At this visit I did some treadmill work.  Walking, uphill and jogging.  I did some free weights and I used some machines – which I thoroughly hated.  My arms certainly got a good workout from the rowing machine.  So it was good to do some different exercises.

Overall it was a fun morning.  We never get a chance to workout together.  I wake up early to get my workout in and he goes right after work or on the weekends when the kids nap.

Have you gone to the gym with your spouse?  Do you work out together?  Do you challenge each other?  Share your experiences.  I’d love to hear them!

Get moving because you’ll feel better than you did yesterday!

 

 

Leave a Reply

