Surviving Mexico!

We just returned from a wonderful week in Mexico with our two girls.  We had a great (albeit exhausting) week with our kids.  It was time away from the hustle and bustle of life and the horrible SNOW!  We enjoyed ourselves.

While we were away I tried so hard to be conscious about what I ate and drank.  This is the first all inclusive vacation that I’ve really stuck to my workout routine and my healthier eating regime.  I wanted to share my experience with you.  The all inclusive mentality isn’t so dreadful when you make smart choices.

Every time my husband and I go away, we always joke that we’ll come back 5 lbs. heavier because of all the wonderful food and drink options.  The sad thing is, that we usually do come back 5 lbs. heavier.  This time we both came back under 2 lbs. heavier which is a healthy fluctuation anyways.

20161210_073012Working Out On Vacation

I kept at it with my workouts!  Each day my lovely body clock told me I had enough sleep between 6:00 and 6:30 a.m. and got me out of bed.  I snuck off to the gym before any of my family were even awake.  I did some of my regular Fitness Blender workouts as well as some combination workouts because I don’t have gym equipment at home.  It was nice to mix it up with a treadmill or an elliptical.  When I got to the gym so early – it was empty and all mine.  It was fun!

20161209_095017
My boot camp view on the beach!

One day I slept in – whoops.  I knew I didn’t have time to get my workout in before the family jamily was awake.  So my wonderful husband told me he would take the kids to the pool while I went to the beach bootcamp class.  What a view and what a workout!  The trainer pushed us to our limits.  My shoulders still hurt.  The only problem for me was the heat.  By the time I was done (11:00 a.m.), I couldn’t find any way to catch up on my water intake for the day.  I ended up with a killer headache.  But the experience was really cool.

All You Can Eat!

It is all you can eat, but you don’t have to!  My husband really encouraged me to eat healthy at breakfast and lunch so I could indulge a little at dinner.  It’s a great plan for vacation.

We really lucked out and our resort had a smoothie bar!  I had basically the same thing on vacation for breakfast that I would have at home (except someone else made if for me – win!).  My kids even enjoyed the smoothies with me.

For lunch we had such amazing salad options!  All the veggies you could ever want were already chopped and cleaned and ready to eat.  One of the reasons we don’t eat some many veggies at home is because of the prep time required.  This was so handy.  With all the fun toppings, the salads were delicious!

At dinner time, I usually had a small dessert.  Hey – I was on vacation!  The great thing about the all inclusive restaurants is that the portions are usually small.  They’re meant for many small courses.  If you’re super hungry, you’re able to ask for more.  But thankfully the portions are just right to try a few things!

All You Can Drink!

It’s all you can drink, but you don’t have to!  Sure – enjoy a fun tropical drink.  That’s the fun of a vacation.  But you don’t have to drink all day long.  We always ordered a drink plus water because it was HOT!  Gotta stay hydrated.  I probably didn’t drink enough water on the trip – but I sure tried!

We had a fun trip and I can’t wait to go back to Mexico next year for our friends wedding.  Knowing how well I can control my eating, drinking and workout habits has given me a new look at vacationing.

Get moving because you’ll feel better than you did yesterday!

Leave a Reply

