I’ve Been MIA!

I’ve been MIA on this blog for too long.  And for good reason.  I just finished up the busiest time of the year at my workplace.  Now that it’s passed I’m trying to get back on track.  Both with exercise and food.

I Dropped the Ball

A few days here and there, I was working some overtime.  I was exhausted and I sacrificed my workouts to get some sleep.  It certainly wasn’t ideal, but I needed it.  I felt disgusting though which encouraged me to get moving again.  It’s amazing how just a few days of missed morning workouts can impact my overall energy levels.

I Ate Garbage…Or Forgot To Eat

There’s no excuse for it.  I ate a lot of junk food when I was on the go with work.  I ate chocolate to give myself a mini energy boost.  I drank far too much caffeine to stay awake.  I ate pizza and McDonald’s etc…etc…  And when things got too busy, I just forgot to eat.  I was so focused on getting my work done that I didn’t even remember dinner half the time.  One night I stopped to get a pita at 8:00 p.m on my way home.  That’s 3 hours later than we normally try to eat!  Eating too late at night really isn’t good for you.

Picking Up the Pieces

I’m working so hard to pick up the pieces.  It’s not easy to cut out caffeine.  It’s not easy to go back to salads instead of pizza or hamburgers.  But I know I need to do it to feel the way I did before.  I felt great.  I woke up easily and energized.  Right now I feel like a squishy sack of potatoes.  I haven’t been a “hit the snooze button” girl in YEARS.  But lately my body just can’t get out of bed.

Next Steps

I’ve been getting back on the right track.  I have been having a salad at lunch time.  I’ve been drinking my smoothie every day.  I don’t eat late at night.  And I’m actually remembering to eat again.  I’m working out even though I don’t feel like I’m quite as energized as I was before.  Hopefully that’ll come back soon.

Share with me your stories!  I love to hear them.  Have you fallen out of your workout routine?  Has it happened to you before?  Were you able to pick back up?

And as always…

Get moving because you’ll feel better than you did yesterday!

Leave a Reply

