Balancing Life Back to Work – IT’S NOT EASY

It’s been an extremely difficult journey making my way back into the workforce after baby #2.  There are way too many fitness programs out there that show it as being a walk in the park.  I’m here to show otherwise.  Today I’ll be talking about the struggles I’ve faced this past month and a half heading back to work, finding a balance with home life and finding time to keep my workouts on track.

Working Out and Staying Active

Yes, I’ve kept up on my daily workouts.  But man, has it ever been hard.  There’s nothing I want more than to set my alarm for 1 hour later and to skip it.  It takes every ounce of will power I have to drag myself out of bed to get moving.  I do get moving though, and I hold onto the feeling that I have at the end of my workout.  I’m energized and I know I can start my day with a clear and focused mind.  If you’re having a hard time with this, think of how great you feel after a workout out.  Keep that wonderful feeling in your mind and get to it!

Nutrition

This is a big failure in my books.  I’ve relied on too many “pick up and go” options.  This includes drive throughs, ready made food, pop in the oven food and in some cases, not eating enough food at all.  Veggies have been severely lacking in my diet and my stomach is pretty angry as a result.

Getting Up Early and Getting Enough Sleep

4:30 a.m. Yep…that’s my wake up time.  I’ll be honest here.  I am NOT getting enough sleep.  I am lucky to get 5-6 hours of sleep each night.  While on maternity leave I thought it was a struggle getting 7-8 hours.  My body isn’t doing that well with the adjustment.  I do have to find a balance somewhere, but I haven’t quite figured that out.

Work Life

Going back to work has been another adjustment. I didn’t feel this way after baby #1.  I was anxious and excited to go back.  I’ve come back at a strange time of the year so it’s very busy.  There really hasn’t been any kind of an ease back into it.  It’s been full force, get it done mode.  Hopefully everything falls back into place in December once our busy time is over.

Finding Time For My Family

When I get home from work, I’m making dinner for my cranky girls who are “hangry”.  Luckily my youngest is now playing a lot more with my oldest.  They can entertain each other and keep out of my hair.  Dinner is always something I look forward to.  We make time to sit down at the table together every single night (even those quick 20 minute dinners on dance night).  We talk about our day and it’s a time to just breathe.

Chores and errands will always get in the way of our family time.  I know things need to be picked up or cleaned or organized.  But sometimes you just have to let things go so you can have some quality time with your family.  Occasionally the laundry may sit in the basket cleaned and not folded for days.  It’s really not the end of the world.  I’m trying my best not to let my “to do” list run my life.

The weekend is the best time to spend together.  We often plan little day trips to the park, local farms or to visit family.  Even something so simple as having breakfast together that my hubby goes out to pick up is still “time together” that I enjoy so much.

Finding Time For Me

Me?  Who is that?  This is an area I’d really like to work on.  I don’t have time for myself.  I like to read on weekends during my girls’ naps, but sometimes other things are more important and must take priority.

My workout really is my main daily activity that’s all for me.  I can think about my day and what needs to be done.  I get my energy levels up and always am thankful that I took the time – no matter how tired I am.

I want to hear your tips and suggestions on being fit, being a mom and working full time.  HELP!  I feel like it’d be really easy for me to lose control over my fitness regime and I really can’t let it go when I’ve come this far.

Get moving because you’ll feel better than you did yesterday!

2 thoughts on “Balancing Life Back to Work – IT’S NOT EASY

  1. Not sure how you keep up that regime with a 4:30 wake up… Ugh! I gather there’s no time during “lunch” etc. To get a work out in? Sleep is super important so you gotta find a way to get more of it (I know I’m a hypocrite). Can you go to bed when kids are in bed?
    Letting that laundry stay unfolded is the most important thing you can do. At the end of the day your time with your girls is precious… So it’s okay to leave that laundry.

    Like

Leave a Reply

