Drinks – The Sneaky Calories!

I’m not a calorie counter, but one thing that Weight Watchers taught me, was how many extra calories we can intake through beverages without even realizing.  

bab3702115d91f8cec0f6f798b54d008The Dreaded Drive Through

You’re sleep deprived…and on the go…hmmm I’ll just grab Tim Hortons.  My go to is always the Iced Cappuccino.  I never considered it to be a high calorie contributor until I looked it up.  A MEDIUM ICED CAPPUCCINO HAS 360 CALORIES???  Oh boy…  Let’s just say, I limit how many of those I treat myself to now (and when I do, I get it made with milk – which is still 270 calories).

Alcohol

I am not a big drinker, but I do like the occasional glass of white wine.  A 5 oz. glass can have between 105 and 135 calories on average (and who only drinks 5 oz. anyways?).  You can see how that can add up quickly if you have a bottle on the go with dinner.

Pop

The dreaded pop (or as Americans call it, soda).  I love pop…I’m a sucker for Diet Coke (yay no calories…boo aspartame – another topic altogether).  I used to really like regular Coke or Pepsi.  I’d take a can with me to school when I was a kid.  What kid understands that calories are in drinks?  Not many – believe me I ignored it well into adulthood.  Well a can of coke has 140 calories and a can of Pepsi contains 150 calories.

As you can see, all these drinks that most people have on a regular basis can really contribute to what your body is taking in.

I challenge you to add up all the drinks you have in a day – NO CHEATING.  See what kind of “extra” calories you are taking in.  You might be surprised!  Try to find some better options, or just drink some water!

Get moving because you’ll feel better than you did yesterday!

3 thoughts on “Drinks – The Sneaky Calories!

  1. I’m a sucker for sugar free non dairy creamer – the dry stuff “only” has 30 calories per TBSP. Well..I use 3 TBSP so that’s a 90 calorie coffee. Ok, so still not as bad as the triple vanilla mocha latte at Starbucks right? Well, consider that at one point I was drinking 15-20 cups of this stuff…at least 1300 calories!! So for now, I’m trying to cut back to 4 cups a day.

    Like

      1. No I don’t at all! – and I can drink it all night long right up until I go to bed. Maybe I’m naturally “depressed” I dont know. But it hardly affects me…but clearly I’m addicted

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

