My Baby Just Turned 1!

20160924_124436What a milestone.  1 year since my youngest daughter was born.  And what a year it’s been.

We just celebrated her first birthday with family and friends.  It was a great day.  We had pizza, salads, snacks and cake.  The bonus of hosting?  You sometimes forget to eat the junk food HAHA!  So the win of the day is, I ate everything in moderation, or not at all.

Today I’m looking back at my year as a busy mom trying to stay fit and active.

She’s Here!

I found out I was in labour while I was working out.  Yes, I was 39 weeks and change pregnant and still following my exercise routine.  I was doing a squat curl when I felt my first contraction.  I didn’t think it was anything until a few minutes later another came along.  From that first contraction to her arrival was just 3 hours.

Stop Working Out – WHAT???

You can’t work out for at least 6 weeks after your baby is born.  I was mad.  Man was I ever!  But my body did need this time.  It’s so important to allow your body to heal and recover.

Getting Back Into A Routine

My first workout was about 7 weeks after my daughter was born.  I decided to return to my ever-faithful Bikini Body Mommy program.  I was so sore.  I felt like it had been ages since I worked out.  I could barely walk up and down the stairs with the pain from the squats.

Sticking With It

I stuck with my routine through the pain and gradually changed it.  Once my body got used to Bikini Body Mommy program, I felt I needed to challenge myself.  I would choose random workout routines off YouTube.  I have evolved into making my own 90 Day Challenge.  I use mostly Fitness Blender workouts which are amazing.  They have workouts of EVERY length and difficulty.  I also tend to pop in an XHIT workout when I need an extra little push.

Achieving My Goals

There is nothing better than seeing the measurement numbers drop.  I am a firm believer that if you take your measurements every 30 days, 60 day – or whatever you feel then your results will be enough to keep you going.  So much more will show by measurement over the number on the scale.

Making A New Plan

I’m almost done my current 90 day plan.  I’m going to re-do it over again.  I’m not in this to loose weight now.  I’m in this to be healthy.

Here’s to the next year!

Get moving because you’ll feel better than you did yesterday!

 

Leave a Reply

