Sleepy Mommy…Working out may actually HELP!

Dear mom’s (and dad’s),

We often don’t sleep much, sleep well, or sleep at all.  Last night was one of those nights.

10:30 p.m.

I fell asleep.  For a weekend, that’s great!  The kids went to bed easily (thank goodness after a day of nap strikes).

12:30 a.m.

My fur baby decides it’s breakfast time.  He is a jerk and chews on everything to wake me up.  I know I’m creating bad habits, but I get up and feed my cats.  I climb back into bed and fall back to sleep.  But I can’t sleep.  I’m thinking of my to do list and what needs to be done this week.  

1:30 a.m.

The last time I remember looking at the clock before falling back to sleep.

4:00 a.m.

My fur baby thinks it’s breakfast again.  I run downstairs to lock him up (yes I’m a mean mommy, but I’m so darn tired).  He climbs behind the couch.  Oh but then he gets caught in the subwoofer wire and pulls it out. The thing starts buzzing at a decibel that hurts your ears. I finally wrangle him, lock him up and go back to bed. But I don’t sleep because my heart is racing a mile a minute from running around.

6:15 a.m.

My alarm goes off. I’m far too tired. I switch it off and climb back into bed. I fall asleep.

6:30 a.m.

My youngest cries so loud I startle out of sleep. I go in to give her her soother. She falls back to sleep. I feel the world is trying to tell me something so I get up to workout.

20160828_064337I’m not going to lie, I got one running shoe on…and I wanted to fall asleep there on the floor. I got up and did my workout though. I may have yawned through half of it but I got my heart rate up nice and high! I’m awake and energetic now because I made the choice to get moving instead of going back to sleep.

I challenge you to get moving today. Go for a walk, a run, chase your kids.  I’ve found since working out that I do sleep more soundly (when there aren’t forces against me waking me up).  And it gets me going by working out in the morning.

Get moving because you’ll feel better than you did yesterday!

Leave a Reply

