My Fitness Journey In a Nutshell

I know I’m not alone when I say, I’ve had epic diet and exercise failures in the past.

Childhood and Teenage Years.

As a child into my teenage years, I was involved in dance both competitively and recreationally.  This was a fun way to be active as a kid.  I was a picky eater.  At that age it didn’t really catch up with me with all the moving around I was doing.

The College Years.

The freshman gain happened!  Oh did it ever.  I wasn’t active at all.  My college program required a lot of sitting down, so I wasn’t really mindful of staying active.  I was eating on a shoestring budget and junk food is much cheaper than healthy options.

1765_40545754570_5642_n
Christmas 2008

Getting Married.

In the fall of 2008 I bought my wedding dress for the following summer.  In January of 2009, I tried it on to show my bridesmaids.  There was NO WAY it would do up.  I hadn’t even noticed that my eating had gotten so out of hand.  I saw how large I was in photos and it was a wake-up call.  I did a Weight Watchers program by myself.  A good friend of mine had the resources, so I just followed them at home.

1914069_153278709570_7848661_n
August 2009

Weight Watchers was a huge success.  I became mindful of what foods were good and what were bad.  After 3 months of strict point counting, I stopped and just had a good sense of what I should be eating.  I kept up with that well past our wedding date and I was rid of 30 pounds.

I was able to keep those 30 pounds off over the next few years with different gym memberships, boot camps and dance classes.

 

Having Kids.

When we decided to have kids, I gave up.  My mind went to a bad place.  I kept saying to myself, “You’re gonna gain weight anyways, so why care?”.  Big, big mistake.  By the time I was 7 months pregnant with my first daughter, I was so large that I had trouble getting up.  My body also decided to swell like crazy.  It was not a comfortable experience.

After having my daughter, I tried the Weight Watchers point system again.  I found that it no longer worked with breastfeeding.  Man – do you ever get hungry.  I decided to not be so hard on myself until I finished with the breastfeeding.

In February of 2014, I was finishing up with breastfeeding and I decided it was time to focus on me.  I was about to head back to work and I needed to make some changes.  This is when I discovered the Bikini Body Mommy Challenge.  It changed my life!  I started exercising 20 minutes a day.  Once my body got used to that, I started to add onto my exercises so they were increasingly challenging.

September 20 2015

I started to eat 5 smaller meals in a day.  It made a huge difference.  3 large meals is just so hard on your body.  5 smaller ones kept my energy levels up throughout the day.

Fast forward to January of 2015 and I was at an extremely healthy weight and I felt amazing.  I had just found out I was pregnant but I was going to do things differently this time around.  I was going to continue with my workouts (modified of course) as long as my pregnancy would allow.

September 23rd, 2015 at 5:30 a.m., I was working out and felt my first contraction.  I realized it was really labour by 6:00 a.m.  3 hours later we welcomed a little girl.  I’ve included a photo of me 3 days before having my second daughter.  Workout gear and all!

After Kids.

At 7 weeks postpartum with my second daughter, I went back to my original Bikini Body Mommy workouts.  7 weeks without them was pure torture (but needed for recovery).  That first week I could barely walk up and down the stairs.  But I kept with it and was back into my routine in no time.

Here I am 11 months later and going strong.  I’ve increased my workout difficulty and length to keep up with my ever-changing needs.

Being healthy makes me a better mom and a better role model for my two amazing little girls.

2 thoughts on “My Fitness Journey In a Nutshell

  1. Hello,
    Pleasure to meet you, thank you for visiting my page and having a follow. I am eager to read more of your fitness journey and hope that you will find interest in my blog post as well.

    Shay-lon

    Like

Leave a Reply

